Posted by: kiseki gurl | June 26, 2009

3 Jpop Songs I’d Want For My Wedding and Funeral

Uh, hi. I know I’ve been rather inactive lately-life has been catching up to me. From bonfires to MJ’s passing (without him Jpop and this blog wouldn’t exist) to my “high liver problems”, it’s been hectic. Anyways, I plead boredom and lack of inspiration for this stupid idea. Somehow summer has made me lazier than usual. And the reason why there’s only 3 songs per category is because I can’t think of anything else.  Though to be honest, if I ever get married, all the songs I’d pick would be either classical or in English. Oh and as a random fact, Namie Amuro’s “CAN YOU CELEBRATE” is the most popular Japanese wedding song of all time. I don’t know what’s the most popular Japanese funeral song of all time, does someone want to enlighten me?

Wedding:

Namie Amuro-I WILL

Every wedding is pretty much required to have a sappy ballad. “I WILL” is Namie’s best ballad by a mile and in my opinion one of the best ballads to ever grace the Jpop scene. Namie’s vocals, while thin and often underraated, shine in this ballad as she proves that she can not only sing-but sing well (and can even belt too!). Combined with epic instrumentation and the usual sappy lovey-dovey lyrics, this song is a must at all Japanese (or wannabee Japanese) weddings. So why is “CAN YOU CELEBRATE” no.1 again?

Shota Shimizu-Aishiteru

The title should be qualifier enough. No seriously, “Aishiteru” has a great motown vibe going on which is perfect for: winding down, looking at the sunset, slow dancing, or whatever cheesy stuff people do at weddings. Shota’s vocals are also on fire-he’s definitely one of the best male vocalists currently out there. Too bad the CD version doesn’t come in with the acapella in the bridge, either.

BoA-LOVE&HONESTY

I wouldn’t be me without a BoA song, eh? Hopefully, I’ll never wear anything as tacky as that green dress in the video. Anyways, this song has always been one of the good ones that was ROBBED of a PV. A ballad with a beat-“LOVE&HONESTY” not only sounds beautiful but it’s catchy too. And do I need to say how BoA’s vocals are wonderful?

Funeral:

Nana Mizuki-Tears Night (Studio Version):

And I say studio version because I don’t want to scare the living shit out of the funeral go-eres. Actually, I really like the slower, simpler arrangement of this song which allows Nana to bring out the more delicate side of her vocals.

BoA-Everlasting

One of the few good songs off of BoA’s “BEST&USA” era-it definitely qualifies as a good emo ballad. With lyrics of separation and losing contact of a loved one, I’d figure it’d be appropriate to make all the funeral-goers cry their little hearts out for me. Yes, I’m evil. Sue me.

K-Over…

While the lyrics are more of a “I’m a creepy stalker and I can never get over you no matter how many years past blah blah blah” than a “boo-hoo you’re dead” song, it still works for a funeral, especially if one of the funeral go-ers is a spurned lover or something. Seriously, I’ve always loved this song more than the insomania song Only Human, 1000 liters of tears theme. It’s a very simple piano ballad yet it’s that simplicity that makes this song shine. And K’s voice too of course.

Now, to complete the 4 is shi and therefore death mantra, I should pick a “4th song” for the funeral. And it is…

Yuna Ito-Koi wa Groovy x2

What? Let the funeral goers have a little fun for a bit.

 

I seriously think I’m the one needing a therapist despite the antics of certain others *cough*.

 


Responses

  1. LOL KOI WA GROOVY. I seriously bursted out with laughter.

  2. Hahaha WowOMG! Ito will lighten the mood for sure.😄

  3. Oh, and I wanted to add that:

    Wedding:
    Ito – Precious (Wedding Ver.)
    Namie – Can We Celebrate (Wedding Ver.)
    Enrique Iglesias – Hero (I love this one!)

    Funeral:
    … Actually, I’ve never really thought about it. O.O
    And you’re less than 20, WTC ARE YOU DOING THINKING ABOUT IT?!!??! *falls over* …..
    You know you’ll have a TON more years to refine that list.🙂

  4. I’m a big fan of her. Some of my fav songs: Omoi, Eternal Blaze, Massive Wonders, and Happy Dive.

  5. Do not approach professional traders to ask them where you should invest
    your money. No one will share their tips with you when it comes to specific investments, and
    you should not share yours. Instead, talk about different sectors and industries: this is the closest thing to a tip
    you will ever get from other traders.
    __________________________________________________________________________

    I love penny stock screener

  6. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!Extremely helpful info
    specially the last part🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this particular info for
    a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.


Leave a Reply

Categories

