Posted by: kiseki gurl | June 5, 2009

Buying Nana Mizuki’s ULTIMATE DIAMOND in Akiba: “Sold Out Everywhere”

05152009-02

So while my “Random Babbles of a Nana Mizuki Fan” draft is still sitting half-finished, I got an e-mail from my gajin friend who’s been in Japan for the past two weeks. He wanted me to post his story of his attempt to buy my copy of ULTIMATE DIAMOND so I obliged.  I’m not bothering to spell-check or edit anything he wrote so what’s here is what he wrote word for word.  

Morning: June 3, 2009.  7:00午前. I arrive in Akihabara, supposing that the stores would be nice and I would simply have to wait in line with other Nana fans and politely ignore the “外人見て見て” exclaimed by the little ones.  NOPE.  All I see are signs which translate to “お知らせ: Line up at 11:00, sales begin 13:00.” I cursed to myself silently since by now I had learned that the only English anyone understands is “ha-ro” and “fuck” but alas I stray to a tangent.  Forced by the need to leave to be back Chisoricho Station by 9:30 for other affairs, I inquire if it likely to be easy to purchase the album that evening.  A man headed the same way I was (yamanote line) explained since she was exceedingly popular it was likely to be sold out.  He told me some other things, but my Japanese only carries me so far.  Along the smaller music shops and anime stores I hear Nana’s voice singing and posters are everywhere.  Everything except…..the new album

Its hard to see, but that little green circle on the right says when to “Line up.” 

Night: June 3, 2009.  21:00午後.  Back in the Tokyo region and decide to search/eat in Akihabara.  I visit two large electronics stores, they don’t even have Nana signs.  I look at one anime/music store and am confronted with this notice posted on an advertisement for her album.   

Ahhhh fuck! *meep* 

After visiting 6 stores and each time meeting various answers indicating that Nana’s album has been sold out, I’m frustrated and hungry after not eating all day.  I resign myself to be defeated, and am leaning against a window at the train station when down below I see I big ass truck go by with a huge profile pic of Nana and text advertising her album.  If Im gonna do it, Ive got to act now, I thought.  Ignoring the fact that I must look out of place as is, I run down four flights of stairs, catch up to the cross light as it is flickering green to turn, dash around business men, and continue running up the street following the truck.  Two blocks later, I curse my otaku life style as the pain of not running often begins to settle in.  But keep going and it pays off.  The truck stops.  Too agitated to give a damn I hail the driver and inquire if he is carrying the copy of the new album.  He smiles.  The clear excitement of a foreigner over this must have been amusing, even more so that agitation had sped up the pace of my Japanese.  He writes an address on a paper.  Some three blocks away.  He goes away, and I cut down an ally to cross the blocks faster.  And there I am given an album as a stack is given to this little tiny store quite a ways from the main “electric town” area.  

 

I ask an otaku-buissness-man to take my picture with nana and am obliged.  (kiseki gurl’s note: I decided to censor his face as a precaution).

This CD had better be good.  If I didn’t love you so much I would have given up long ago on this cursed quest.”

  —-

I think this explains why Nana’s selling so well right now. As I’m sure everyone knows by now, she’s sold 49,296 copies in 3 days (more than the first week of GREAT ACTIVITY) and is owning Black Eyed Peas. Woo-hoo!


Responses

  1. Just as planned.

  2. It would help if you told your friend that they always sold the CD one day earlier. It would be much easier if he went on June 2 instead, and to Animate in Shibuya lol. ^^; Anyway 2 big electronic stores? I’m pretty sure Yodobashi and Sofmap will have Nana banners, cos they did so for Shin’ai.:-/

  3. Awwww.😄

    that’s cute

  4. so i guess “fuck” is really an international language heh

  5. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

